PW

Panasonic TS7 Comparison Review

The Panasonic Lumix DC-TS7 (called Panasonic FT7 in some regions) is a fixed lens compact camera that was officially introduced in May 2018 and is equipped with a 1/2.3-inch sensor. It offers a resolution of 20.2 megapixel.

badge

The TS7 has an Elo rating of 1983. The Camera Elo represents a comprehensive assessment of digital cameras, as derived from a large number of pair-wise comparisons of body, sensor, and feature characteristics.

The Elo rating puts the Panasonic TS7 below average of all travel zoom compact cameras. In terms of its sensor size category – small sensor cameras – the TS7 ranks among the top 30 percent. Based on its within category standings, the camera receives a 3.5-star performance rating.

Read on to find out more about the camera's size, sensor, features, and reception by expert reviewers.

Body comparison with a credit card

The physical dimensions of the Panasonic TS7 relative to a credit card are illustrated in the side-by-side display below. Three consecutive perspectives from the front, the top, and the back are presented. All size dimensions are rounded to the nearest millimeter.

Panasonic TS7 vs credit card front
TS7 versus credit card top view
TS7 and credit card rear side

The table below summarizes the key physical specs of the Panasonic TS7 alongside a set of comparators. If you want to review a camera pair side-by-side, just select a right-side comparator from among the camera models in the table. Alternatively, you can also move across to the CAM-parator tool and choose from the broad selection of possible comparisons there.

Camera Body Specifications
  Camera
Model
Camera
Width
Camera
Height
Camera
Depth
Camera
Weight
Battery
Life
(CIPA)
Weather
Sealing
(yes/no)
Camera
Launch
(announced)
Launch
Price
(USD)
Street
Price
(USD)
Used
Price
(USD)
Camera
Model
Panasonic TS7 117 mm 76 mm 37 mm 319 g 300 Y May 2018 449 i i Panasonic TS7
Canon SX740« » 110 mm 64 mm 40 mm 299 g 265 n Jul 2018 399 i i Canon SX740
Canon G1 X Mark III« » 115 mm 78 mm 51 mm 399 g 200 Y Oct 2017 1,299 i i Canon G1 X Mark III
Canon SX730« » 110 mm 64 mm 40 mm 300 g 250 n Apr 2017 399- i Canon SX730
Fujifilm X-A5« » 117 mm 68 mm 40 mm 361 g 450 n Jan 2018 399 i i Fujifilm X-A5
Fujifilm XF10« » 113 mm 64 mm 41 mm 279 g 330 n Jul 2018 499 i i Fujifilm XF10
Nikon W300« » 112 mm 66 mm 29 mm 231 g 280 Y May 2017 389 i i Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« » 112 mm 67 mm 41 mm 322 g 380 n Apr 2017 449 i i Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX99« » 102 mm 58 mm 36 mm 242 g 370 n Aug 2018 449 i i Sony HX99
Sony HX95« » 102 mm 58 mm 36 mm 242 g 370 n Aug 2018 429 i i Sony HX95
Sony WX800« » 102 mm 58 mm 36 mm 233 g 370 n Oct 2018 399 i i Sony WX800

The listed prices provide an indication of the market segment that the manufacturer of the cameras have been targeting. The Panasonic TS7 was launched in the US market at a price of $449. Usually, retail prices stay at first close to the launch price, but after several months, discounts become available. Later in the product cycle and, in particular, when the replacement model is about to appear, further discounting and stock clearance sales often push the camera price considerably down. Then, after the new model is out, very good deals can frequently be found on the pre-owned market.

 

Sensor comparison with a 35mm slide

The size of the sensor inside a digital camera is one of the key determinants of image quality. A large sensor will tend to have larger individual pixels that provide better low-light sensitivity, wider dynamic range, and richer color-depth than smaller pixel-units in a sensor of the same technological generation. Moreover, a large sensor camera will give the photographer more control over depth-of-field in the image and, thus, the ability to better isolate a subject from the background. On the downside, larger sensors tend to be associated with larger, more expensive camera bodies and lenses.

The Panasonic TS7 features a 1/2.3-inch sensor and has a format factor (sometimes also referred to as "crop factor") of 5.6. Within the spectrum of camera sensors, this places the Panasonic TS7 among the smaller-sensor digicams that favor affordability and compact design.

Panasonic TS7 sensor measures

Consistent information on actual sensor performance is available from DXO Mark for most cameras. This service determines an overall sensor rating, as well as sub-scores for low-light sensitivity ("DXO Sports"), dynamic range ("DXO Landscape"), and color depth ("DXO Portrait"). The adjacent table reports on the physical sensor characteristics and the outcomes of the DXO sensor quality tests for a sample of comparator-cameras.

Sensor Characteristics
  Camera
Model
Sensor
Class
Resolution
(MP)
Horiz.
Pixels
Vert.
Pixels
Video
Format
DXO
Portrait
DXO
Landscape
DXO
Sports
DXO
Overall
Camera
Model
Panasonic TS7 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38884K/30p----Panasonic TS7
Canon SX740« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38884K/30p----Canon SX740
Canon G1 X Mark III« » APS-C 24.0 6000 40001080/60p----Canon G1 X Mark III
Canon SX730« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38881080/60p----Canon SX730
Fujifilm X-A5« » APS-C 24.0 6000 40004K/15p----Fujifilm X-A5
Fujifilm XF10« » APS-C 24.0 6000 40004K/15p----Fujifilm XF10
Nikon W300« » 1/2.3 15.9 4608 34564K/30p----Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38884K/30p19.110.610636Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX99« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony HX99
Sony HX95« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony HX95
Sony WX800« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony WX800

Feature comparison

Beyond body and sensor, cameras can and do differ across a range of features. The following tables report on some other key feature differences and similarities of the Panasonic TS7 and comparable cameras. The full specs-sheets can be found in the camera manual or, for example, in the dpreview camera hub.

Core Features
  Camera
Model
Viewfinder
(Type or
'000 dots)
Control
Panel
(yes/no)
LCD
Size
(inch)
LCD
Resolution
('000 dots)
LCD
Attach-
ment
Touch
Screen
(yes/no)
Shutter
speed
(1/sec)
Shutter
flaps
(1/sec)
Build-in
Flash
(yes/no)
Build-in
Image
Stab
Camera
Model
Panasonic TS71170 n 3.0 1040 fixed n 1300 10.0 Y Y Panasonic TS7
Canon SX740« »- n 3.0 922 tilting n 3200 10.0 Y Y Canon SX740
Canon G1 X Mark III« »2360 n 3.0 1040 swivel Y 2000 9.0 Y Y Canon G1 X Mark III
Canon SX730« »- n 3.0 922 tilting n 3200 5.9 Y Y Canon SX730
Fujifilm X-A5« »- n 3.0 1040 tilting Y 4000 6.0 Y n Fujifilm X-A5
Fujifilm XF10« »- n 3.0 1040 fixed Y 4000 6.0 Y n Fujifilm XF10
Nikon W300« »- n 3.0 921 fixed n 4000 7.0 Y Y Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« »1166 n 3.0 1040 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX99« »638 n 3.0 922 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony HX99
Sony HX95« »638 n 3.0 922 tilting n 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »- n 3.0 922 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony WX800
Input-Output Connections
  Camera
Model
Hotshoe
Port
Internal
Microphone
Internal
Speaker
Microphone
Port
Headphone
Port
HDMI
Port
USB
Type
WiFi
Support
NFC
Support
Bluetooth
Support
Camera
Model
Panasonic TS7-stereomono--micro2.0Y--Panasonic TS7
Canon SX740« »-stereomono--micro2.0YYYCanon SX740
Canon G1 X Mark III« »Ystereomono--micro2.0YYYCanon G1 X Mark III
Canon SX730« »-stereomono--micro2.0YYYCanon SX730
Fujifilm X-A5« »YstereomonoY-mini2.0Y-YFujifilm X-A5
Fujifilm XF10« »-stereomonoY-micro2.0Y-YFujifilm XF10
Nikon W300« »-stereomono--micro2.0Y-YNikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« »-stereomono--micro2.0Y--Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX99« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony HX99
Sony HX95« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony WX800
 

Expert reviews

While the comparison of the spec-sheets of cameras can offer a general idea of their imaging potential, it remains partial and cannot reveal, for example, the handling experience and imaging performance when actually working with the TS7. User reviews that are available, for instance, at amazon can sometimes shed light on these issues, but such feedback is all too often partial, inconsistent, and inaccurate. This is why hands-on reviews by experts are important. The following table reports the overall rankings of the cameras as published by some of the major camera review sites (cameralabs, dpreview, ephotozine, imaging-resource, photographyblog). The detailed reviews can be accessed by clicking on the site logo in the table header.

Review Scores
  Camera
Model
cameralabs dpreview ephotozine imaging-resource photographyblog Camera
Launch
(announced)
Launch
Price
(USD)
Street
Price
(USD)
Used
Price
(USD)
Camera
Model
Panasonic TS7Rec---3.5/5 May 2018 449 i i Panasonic TS7
Canon SX740« »Rec-4/5-4/5 Jul 2018 399 i i Canon SX740
Canon G1 X Mark III« »Rec79/1004.5/5-4.5/5 Oct 2017 1,299 i i Canon G1 X Mark III
Canon SX730« »Rec-4/5-4/5 Apr 2017 399- i Canon SX730
Fujifilm X-A5« »Rec-4/54/53.5/5 Jan 2018 399 i i Fujifilm X-A5
Fujifilm XF10« »--4/5-4.5/5 Jul 2018 499 i i Fujifilm XF10
Nikon W300« »Rec-4/5-4/5 May 2017 389 i i Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« »HiRec-4/5-4/5 Apr 2017 449 i i Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX99« »----4.5/5 Aug 2018 449 i i Sony HX99
Sony HX95« »----- Aug 2018 429 i i Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »----- Oct 2018 399 i i Sony WX800

The above review scores should be interpreted with care, though. The ratings are only valid when referring to cameras in the same category and of the same age. A score, therefore, has to be seen in close connection to the price and market introduction time of the camera, and comparing ratings of very distinct cameras or ones that are far apart in terms of their release date have little meaning. Also, kindly note that some of the listed sites have over time developped their review approaches and their reporting style.

Panasonic TS7 FAQ

Below are some additional questions and answers concerning some particular features of the TS7.

What is the technology behind the imaging sensor in the TS7?

The camera is build around a BSI-CMOS (Backside Illuminated Complementary Metal–Oxide–Semiconductor) sensor.

Which image processing chip is used to convert the raw signal into an image file and perform noise reduction and image sharpening?

Panasonic equipped the TS7 with the Venus image processor.

What is the ISO sensitivity range of the TS7?

The camera has a native sensitivity range from ISO 80 to ISO 3200.

Does the Panasonic TS7 offer an option for completely silent shooting?

Yes, the camera has an electronic shutter that can be activated to make silent picture taking possible.

Does the Panasonic TS7 feature an autofocus assist light?

Yes, the camera has a lamp build-in that can illuminate the subject and improve autofocus in low-light settings.

Which battery does the TS7 use?

The camera gets its power from the DMW-BCM13 (here at amazon), which is a rechargeable Lithium-Ion power pack.

 

Camera to camera comparisons

If you would like to see a side-by-side review of this and another camera, just use the search menu below. Alternatively, you can follow any of the listed hyperlinks for comparisons that others found interesting. If the camera you are interested in is not available, please send me an email, and I will try to update the database with the necessary infos.

~

    You are here  »   »