PW

Nikon W300 Comparison Review

The Nikon Coolpix W300 is a fixed lens compact camera that was revealed to the public in May 2017 and is equipped with a 1/2.3-inch sensor. It offers a resolution of 15.9 megapixel.

badge

The W300 has an Elo rating of 1973. The Camera Elo represents a comprehensive assessment of digital cameras, as derived from a large number of pair-wise comparisons of body, sensor, and feature characteristics.

The Elo rating puts the Nikon W300 below average of all travel zoom compact cameras. In terms of its sensor size category – small sensor cameras – the W300 ranks among the top 40 percent. Based on its within category standings, the camera receives a 3-star performance rating.

Read on to find out more about the camera's size, sensor, features, and reception by expert reviewers.

Body comparison with a credit card

The physical dimensions of the Nikon W300 relative to a credit card are illustrated in the side-by-side display below. Three successive views from the front, the top, and the rear are shown. All width, height and depth measures are rounded to the nearest millimeter.

Nikon W300 vs credit card front
W300 versus credit card top view
W300 and credit card rear side

The table below summarizes the key physical specs of the Nikon W300 alongside a set of comparators. If you want to review a camera pair side-by-side, just select a right-side comparator from among the camera models in the table. Alternatively, you can also move across to the CAM-parator tool and choose from the broad selection of possible comparisons there.

Camera Body Specifications
  Camera
Model
Camera
Width
Camera
Height
Camera
Depth
Camera
Weight
Battery
Life
(CIPA)
Weather
Sealing
(yes/no)
Camera
Launch
(announced)
Launch
Price
(USD)
Street
Price
(USD)
Used
Price
(USD)
Camera
Model
Nikon W300 112 mm 66 mm 29 mm 231 g 280 Y May 2017 389 i i Nikon W300
Leica X-U Typ 113« » 140 mm 79 mm 88 mm 635 g 450 Y Jan 2016 2,950 i i Leica X-U Typ 113
Nikon P1000« » 146 mm 119 mm 181 mm 1415 g 250 n Jul 2018 999 i i Nikon P1000
Nikon D7500« » 136 mm 104 mm 73 mm 720 g 950 Y Apr 2017 1,299 i i Nikon D7500
Olympus TG-5« » 113 mm 66 mm 32 mm 250 g 340 Y May 2017 449 i i Olympus TG-5
Panasonic FT7« » 117 mm 76 mm 37 mm 319 g 300 Y May 2018 449 i i Panasonic FT7
Panasonic GX800« » 107 mm 65 mm 33 mm 269 g 210 n Jan 2017 549 i i Panasonic GX800
Ricoh WG-60« » 123 mm 62 mm 30 mm 193 g 300 Y Oct 2018 279 i i Ricoh WG-60
Sony HX99« » 102 mm 58 mm 36 mm 242 g 370 n Aug 2018 449 i i Sony HX99
Sony HX95« » 102 mm 58 mm 36 mm 242 g 370 n Aug 2018 429 i i Sony HX95
Sony WX800« » 102 mm 58 mm 36 mm 233 g 370 n Oct 2018 399 i i Sony WX800

The listed prices provide an indication of the market segment that the manufacturer of the cameras have been targeting. The Nikon W300 was launched in the US market at a price of $389. Usually, retail prices stay at first close to the launch price, but after several months, discounts become available. Later in the product cycle and, in particular, when the replacement model is about to appear, further discounting and stock clearance sales often push the camera price considerably down. Then, after the new model is out, very good deals can frequently be found on the pre-owned market.

 

Sensor comparison with a 35mm slide

The imaging sensor is at the core of digital cameras and its size is one of the main determining factors of image quality. A large sensor will tend to have larger individual pixels that provide better low-light sensitivity, wider dynamic range, and richer color-depth than smaller pixel-units in a sensor of the same technological generation. Furthermore, a large sensor camera will give the photographer more possibilities to use shallow depth-of-field in order to isolate a subject from the background. On the downside, larger sensors tend to be more expensive and lead to bigger and heavier cameras and lenses.

The Nikon W300 features a 1/2.3-inch sensor and has a format factor (sometimes also referred to as "crop factor") of 5.6. Within the spectrum of camera sensors, this places the Nikon W300 among the smaller-sensor digicams that favor affordability and compact design.

Nikon W300 sensor measures

For most cameras, data on sensor performance has been reported by DXO Mark. This service determines an overall sensor rating, as well as sub-scores for low-light sensitivity ("DXO Sports"), dynamic range ("DXO Landscape"), and color depth ("DXO Portrait"). The table below summarizes the physical sensor characteristics and sensor quality findings and compares them across a set of similar cameras.

Sensor Characteristics
  Camera
Model
Sensor
Class
Resolution
(MP)
Horiz.
Pixels
Vert.
Pixels
Video
Format
DXO
Portrait
DXO
Landscape
DXO
Sports
DXO
Overall
Camera
Model
Nikon W300 1/2.3 15.9 4608 34564K/30p----Nikon W300
Leica X-U Typ 113« » APS-C 16.1 4928 32641080/30p----Leica X-U Typ 113
Nikon P1000« » 1/2.3 15.9 4608 34564K/30p----Nikon P1000
Nikon D7500« » APS-C 20.7 5568 37124K/30p24.314.0148386Nikon D7500
Olympus TG-5« » 1/2.3 12.0 4000 30004K/30p----Olympus TG-5
Panasonic FT7« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38884K/30p----Panasonic FT7
Panasonic GX800« » Four Thirds 15.8 4592 34484K/30p23.213.358673Panasonic GX800
Ricoh WG-60« » 1/2.3 15.9 4608 34561080/60p----Ricoh WG-60
Sony HX99« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony HX99
Sony HX95« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony HX95
Sony WX800« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony WX800

Feature comparison

Apart from body and sensor, cameras can and do differ across a range of features. The adjacent tables list some of the other core features of the Nikon W300 along with similar information for a selection of comparators. The full specs-sheets can be found in the camera manual or, for example, in the dpreview camera hub.

Core Features
  Camera
Model
Viewfinder
(Type or
'000 dots)
Control
Panel
(yes/no)
LCD
Size
(inch)
LCD
Resolution
('000 dots)
LCD
Attach-
ment
Touch
Screen
(yes/no)
Shutter
speed
(1/sec)
Shutter
flaps
(1/sec)
Build-in
Flash
(yes/no)
Build-in
Image
Stab
Camera
Model
Nikon W300- n 3.0 921 fixed n 4000 7.0 Y Y Nikon W300
Leica X-U Typ 113« »- n 3.0 920 fixed n 2000 5.0 Y n Leica X-U Typ 113
Nikon P1000« »2359 n 3.2 921 swivel n 4000 7.0 Y Y Nikon P1000
Nikon D7500« »optical Y 3.2 922 tilting Y 8000 8.0 Y n Nikon D7500
Olympus TG-5« »- n 3.0 460 fixed n 2000 20.0 Y Y Olympus TG-5
Panasonic FT7« »1170 n 3.0 1040 fixed n 1300 10.0 Y Y Panasonic FT7
Panasonic GX800« »- n 3.0 1040 tilting Y 500 10.0 Y n Panasonic GX800
Ricoh WG-60« »- n 2.7 230 fixed n 4000 8.0 Y n Ricoh WG-60
Sony HX99« »638 n 3.0 922 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony HX99
Sony HX95« »638 n 3.0 922 tilting n 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »- n 3.0 922 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony WX800
Input-Output Connections
  Camera
Model
Hotshoe
Port
Internal
Microphone
Internal
Speaker
Microphone
Port
Headphone
Port
HDMI
Port
USB
Type
WiFi
Support
NFC
Support
Bluetooth
Support
Camera
Model
Nikon W300-stereomono--micro2.0Y-YNikon W300
Leica X-U Typ 113« »Ystereomono---2.0---Leica X-U Typ 113
Nikon P1000« »YstereomonoY-micro2.0Y-YNikon P1000
Nikon D7500« »YstereomonoYYmini2.0Y-YNikon D7500
Olympus TG-5« »-stereomono--micro2.0Y--Olympus TG-5
Panasonic FT7« »-stereomono--micro2.0Y--Panasonic FT7
Panasonic GX800« »-stereomono--micro2.0Y--Panasonic GX800
Ricoh WG-60« »-monomono--micro2.0---Ricoh WG-60
Sony HX99« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony HX99
Sony HX95« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony WX800
 

Expert reviews

While the comparison of technical specifications can provide a useful overview of the capabilities of different cameras, it says nothing about, for example, the handling, responsiveness, and overall imaging quality of the W300 in practical situations. User reviews that are available, for instance, at amazon can sometimes shed light on these issues, but such feedback is all too often partial, inconsistent, and inaccurate. This is why expert reviews are important. The adjacent table relays the overall verdicts of several of the most popular camera review sites (cameralabs, dpreview, ephotozine, imaging-resource, photographyblog). The full reviews are available by clicking on the site logo in the table header.

Review Scores
  Camera
Model
cameralabs dpreview ephotozine imaging-resource photographyblog Camera
Launch
(announced)
Launch
Price
(USD)
Street
Price
(USD)
Used
Price
(USD)
Camera
Model
Nikon W300Rec-4/5-4/5 May 2017 389 i i Nikon W300
Leica X-U Typ 113« »----3.5/5 Jan 2016 2,950 i i Leica X-U Typ 113
Nikon P1000« »Rec73/1003.5/5-3.5/5 Jul 2018 999 i i Nikon P1000
Nikon D7500« »HiRec86/1005/54.5/54.5/5 Apr 2017 1,299 i i Nikon D7500
Olympus TG-5« »HiRec-4/5rev4/5 May 2017 449 i i Olympus TG-5
Panasonic FT7« »Rec-3.5/5-3.5/5 May 2018 449 i i Panasonic FT7
Panasonic GX800« »Rec76/1004.5/54/54.5/5 Jan 2017 549 i i Panasonic GX800
Ricoh WG-60« »----- Oct 2018 279 i i Ricoh WG-60
Sony HX99« »----4.5/5 Aug 2018 449 i i Sony HX99
Sony HX95« »----- Aug 2018 429 i i Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »----- Oct 2018 399 i i Sony WX800

The above review scores should be interpreted with care, though. The assessments were made in relation to similar cameras of the same technological generation. Thus, a score needs to be put into the context of the launch date and the launch price of the camera, and comparisons of ratings among very different cameras or across long time periods have little meaning. Also, kindly note that some of the listed sites have over time developped their review approaches and their reporting style.

Nikon W300 FAQ

Below are some additional questions and answers concerning some particular features of the W300.

What type of imaging sensor is used in the W300?

The camera features a BSI-CMOS (Backside Illuminated Complementary Metal–Oxide–Semiconductor) sensor.

What is the ISO sensitivity range of the W300?

The camera has a native sensitivity range from ISO 125 to ISO 1600.

Does the Nikon W300 feature an autofocus assist light?

Yes, the camera has a lamp build-in that can illuminate the subject and improve autofocus in low-light settings.

Which battery does the W300 use?

The camera gets its power from the EN-EL12 (here at amazon), which is a rechargeable Lithium-Ion power pack.

 

Camera to camera comparisons

In case you would like to check on the differences and similarities of camera models, just use the search menu below. Alternatively, you can follow any of the listed hyperlinks for comparisons that others found interesting. If you cannot find the camera you are interested in, please send me an email, and I will try to locate and add the respective data to the application.

~

    You are here  »   »