PW

Sony HX99 Comparison Review

The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX99 is a fixed lens compact camera that was revealed to the public in August 2018 and is equipped with a 1/2.3-inch sensor. It offers a resolution of 18 megapixel.

Body comparison with a credit card

An illustration of the physical dimensions of the Sony HX99 vis-à-vis a credit card is provided in the side-by-side display below. Three consecutive views from the front, the top, and the rear side are shown. All width, height and depth measures are rounded to the nearest millimeter.

Sony HX99 vs credit card front
HX99 versus credit card top view
HX99 and credit card rear side

The table below summarizes the key physical specs of the Sony HX99 alongside a set of comparators. If you want to review a camera pair side-by-side, just select a right-side comparator from among the camera models in the table. Alternatively, you can also move across to the CAM-parator tool and choose from the broad selection of possible comparisons there.

Camera Body Specifications
  Camera
Model
Camera
Width
Camera
Height
Camera
Depth
Camera
Weight
Battery
Life
(CIPA)
Weather
Sealing
(yes/no)
Camera
Launch
(announced)
Launch
Price
(USD)
Street
Price
(USD)
Used
Price
(USD)
Camera
Model
Sony HX99 4.0 in 2.3 in 1.4 in 8.5 oz 370 n Aug 2018 449 i i Sony HX99
Canon SX740« » 4.3 in 2.5 in 1.6 in 10.5 oz 265 n Jul 2018 399 i i Canon SX740
Canon SX70« » 5.0 in 3.6 in 4.6 in 21.4 oz 325 n Sep 2018 549 i i Canon SX70
Canon G9 X Mark II« » 3.9 in 2.3 in 1.2 in 7.3 oz 235 n Jan 2017 529 i i Canon G9 X Mark II
Canon SX730« » 4.3 in 2.5 in 1.6 in 10.6 oz 250 n Apr 2017 399- i Canon SX730
Nikon W300« » 4.4 in 2.6 in 1.1 in 8.1 oz 280 Y May 2017 389 i i Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« » 4.4 in 2.6 in 1.6 in 11.4 oz 380 n Apr 2017 449 i i Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX95« » 4.0 in 2.3 in 1.4 in 8.5 oz 370 n Aug 2018 429 i i Sony HX95
Sony WX800« » 4.0 in 2.3 in 1.4 in 8.2 oz 370 n Oct 2018 399 i i Sony WX800
Sony A5000« » 4.3 in 2.5 in 1.4 in 9.5 oz 420 n Jan 2014 449- i Sony A5000
Sony HX400V« » 5.1 in 3.7 in 4.1 in 23.3 oz 300 n Feb 2014 499 i i Sony HX400V

The listed prices provide an indication of the market segment that the manufacturer of the cameras have been targeting. The Sony HX99 was launched in the US market at a price of $449. Usually, retail prices stay at first close to the launch price, but after several months, discounts become available. Later in the product cycle and, in particular, when the replacement model is about to appear, further discounting and stock clearance sales often push the camera price considerably down. Then, after the new model is out, very good deals can frequently be found on the pre-owned market.

 

Sensor comparison with a 35mm slide

The size of the imaging sensor is a crucial determinant of image quality. A large sensor will generally have larger individual pixels that offer better low-light sensitivity, provide wider dynamic range, and have richer color-depth than smaller pixels in a sensor of the same technological generation. Moreover, a large sensor camera will give the photographer more control over depth-of-field in the image and, thus, the ability to better isolate a subject from the background. On the downside, larger sensors are more costly to manufacture and tent to lead to bigger and heavier cameras and lenses.

The Sony HX99 features a 1/2.3-inch sensor and has a format factor (sometimes also referred to as "crop factor") of 5.6. Within the spectrum of camera sensors, this places the Sony HX99 among the smaller-sensor digicams that favor affordability and compact design.

Sony HX99 sensor measures

For most cameras, data on sensor performance has been reported by DXO Mark. This service assesses and scores the color depth ("DXO Portrait"), dynamic range ("DXO Landscape"), and low-light sensitivity ("DXO Sports") of camera sensors, and also publishes an overall camera score. The following table provides an overview of the physical sensor characteristics, as well as the sensor quality measurements for a selection of comparators.

Sensor Characteristics
  Camera
Model
Sensor
Class
Resolution
(MP)
Horiz.
Pixels
Vert.
Pixels
Video
Format
DXO
Portrait
DXO
Landscape
DXO
Sports
DXO
Overall
Camera
Model
Sony HX99 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony HX99
Canon SX740« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38884K/30p----Canon SX740
Canon SX70« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38884K/30p----Canon SX70
Canon G9 X Mark II« » 1-inch 20.0 5472 36481080/60p21.912.552265Canon G9 X Mark II
Canon SX730« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38881080/60p----Canon SX730
Nikon W300« » 1/2.3 15.9 4608 34564K/30p----Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38884K/30p19.110.610636Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX95« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony HX95
Sony WX800« » 1/2.3 18.0 4896 36724K/30p----Sony WX800
Sony A5000« » APS-C 19.8 5456 36321080/60i23.813.0108979Sony A5000
Sony HX400V« » 1/2.3 20.2 5184 38881080/60p----Sony HX400V

Feature comparison

Apart from body and sensor, cameras can and do differ across a range of features. The tables below summarize some of the other core capabilities of the Sony HX99 in connection with corresponding information for a sample of similar cameras. If you need more detail on the specs, you can find comprehensive listings, for example, in the dpreview camera hub.

Core Features
  Camera
Model
Viewfinder
(Type or
'000 dots)
Control
Panel
(yes/no)
LCD
Size
(inch)
LCD
Resolution
('000 dots)
LCD
Attach-
ment
Touch
Screen
(yes/no)
Shutter
speed
(1/sec)
Shutter
flaps
(1/sec)
Build-in
Flash
(yes/no)
Build-in
Image
Stab
Camera
Model
Sony HX99638 n 3.0 922 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony HX99
Canon SX740« »- n 3.0 922 tilting n 3200 10.0 Y Y Canon SX740
Canon SX70« »2360 n 3.0 922 swivel n 2000 10.0 Y Y Canon SX70
Canon G9 X Mark II« »- n 3.0 1040 fixed Y 2000 8.2 Y Y Canon G9 X Mark II
Canon SX730« »- n 3.0 922 tilting n 3200 5.9 Y Y Canon SX730
Nikon W300« »- n 3.0 921 fixed n 4000 7.0 Y Y Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« »1166 n 3.0 1040 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX95« »638 n 3.0 922 tilting n 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »- n 3.0 922 tilting Y 2000 10.0 Y Y Sony WX800
Sony A5000« »- n 3.0 461 tilting n 4000 3.5 Y n Sony A5000
Sony HX400V« »210 n 3.0 921 tilting n 4000 10.0 Y Y Sony HX400V
Input-Output Connections
  Camera
Model
Hotshoe
Port
Internal
Microphone
Internal
Speaker
Microphone
Port
Headphone
Port
HDMI
Port
USB
Type
WiFi
Support
NFC
Support
Bluetooth
Support
Camera
Model
Sony HX99-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony HX99
Canon SX740« »-stereomono--micro2.0YYYCanon SX740
Canon SX70« »-stereomonoY-micro2.0Y-YCanon SX70
Canon G9 X Mark II« »-stereomono--micro2.0YYYCanon G9 X Mark II
Canon SX730« »-stereomono--micro2.0YYYCanon SX730
Nikon W300« »-stereomono--micro2.0Y-YNikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« »-stereomono--micro2.0Y--Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX95« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony WX800
Sony A5000« »-stereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony A5000
Sony HX400V« »Ystereomono--micro2.0YY-Sony HX400V
 

Expert reviews

While the comparison of the spec-sheets of cameras can offer a general idea of their imaging potential, it says nothing about, for example, the handling, responsiveness, and overall imaging quality of the HX99 in practical situations. User reviews, such as those found at amazon, can sometimes inform about these issues, but such feedback is often incomplete, inconsistent, and biased. This is where reviews by experts come in. The adjacent table relays the overall verdicts of several of the most popular camera review sites (cameralabs, dpreview, ephotozine, imaging-resource, photographyblog). You can find the full text of the reviews by clicking on the site logo in the table header.

Review Scores
  Camera
Model
cameralabs dpreview ephotozine imaging-resource photographyblog Camera
Launch
(announced)
Launch
Price
(USD)
Street
Price
(USD)
Used
Price
(USD)
Camera
Model
Sony HX99----- Aug 2018 449 i i Sony HX99
Canon SX740« »Rec-4/5-4/5 Jul 2018 399 i i Canon SX740
Canon SX70« »----- Sep 2018 549 i i Canon SX70
Canon G9 X Mark II« »-75/1004.5/54.5/54.5/5 Jan 2017 529 i i Canon G9 X Mark II
Canon SX730« »Rec-4/5-4/5 Apr 2017 399- i Canon SX730
Nikon W300« »Rec-4/5-4/5 May 2017 389 i i Nikon W300
Panasonic ZS70« »HiRec-4/5-4/5 Apr 2017 449 i i Panasonic ZS70
Sony HX95« »----- Aug 2018 429 i i Sony HX95
Sony WX800« »----- Oct 2018 399 i i Sony WX800
Sony A5000« »Rec-4.5/5rev4.5/5 Jan 2014 449- i Sony A5000
Sony HX400V« »HiRec-4/5-4/5 Feb 2014 499 i i Sony HX400V

The review scores listed above should be treated with care, though. The ratings are only valid when referring to cameras in the same category and of the same age. A score, therefore, has to be seen in close connection to the price and market introduction time of the camera, and comparisons of ratings among very different cameras or across long time periods have little meaning. It should also be noted that some of the review sites have over time altered the way they render their verdicts.

Sony HX99 FAQ

Below are some additional questions and answers concerning some particular features of the HX99.

What technology is the imaging sensor in the HX99 based on?

The camera features a CMOS (Complementary Metal–Oxide–Semiconductor) sensor.

Which image processing chip is used to convert the raw signal into an image file and perform noise reduction and image sharpening?

Sony equipped the HX99 with the BIONZ X image processor.

What is the ISO sensitivity range of the HX99?

The camera has a native sensitivity range from ISO 80 to ISO 3200.

Does the camera have a selfie-friendly screen?

Yes, the LCD-screen of the HX99 is flexible and can be turned to be front-facing for capturing selfies.

Does the Sony HX99 feature an autofocus assist light?

Yes, the camera has a lamp build-in that can illuminate the subject and improve autofocus in low-light settings.

Which battery does the HX99 use?

The camera gets its power from the NP-BX1 (here at amazon), which is a rechargeable Lithium-Ion power pack.

 

Camera to camera comparisons

In case you are interested in seeing how this camera compares another one, just make your choice using the following search menu. An an alternative, you can also directly jump to any one of the listed comparisons that were previously generated by the CAM-parator tool. If the camera you are interested in is not available, please send me an email, and I will try to update the database with the necessary infos.

~

    You are here  »   »